What’s Katie Reading?

image21

Talking as Fast as I Can : From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls and Everything in Between

Lauren Graham

“Oy, with the poodles already”

Expectation: I am an unashamed Gilmore Girls devotee. I am not ashamed to admit I handmade myself a sweatshirt with the above quote screened onto it. I had been waiting (im)patiently for this book. I am a big Lauren Graham fan, not only from Gilmore Girls but I also follow her theatrical career, and I was ready to learn all the juicy details

Plot: In this collection of essays, Lauren touches on her upbringing, her college years, joe-jobs, auditions and her experience on and off screen of both Gilmore Girls and Parenthood.

Review: Lauren Graham is Lorelai Gilmore. She is honest and funny and fast fast fast. This book reads a bit like a caffeine-fueled kaleidoscope. It rapidly jumps from insight to hilarity. Being such a big GG fan, the highlight for me was ‘What It Was Like: Part One’, where she endures a GG marathon and summarizes each season. ‘What it Was Like: Part Two’ examines what it was like to pick up this iconic role nine years later. Unfortunately there was no mention of her theatrical career, and I did find myself fading though the Parenthood section, since it is a show I am unfamiliar with. I would say that this book is best suited for the devoted fan base. The nuances will be lost on and redundant to those who have not watched the GG series in its entirely. There are also many spoilers from the original series, as well as small clues about the final season. Since it is now streaming on Netflix, the anticipation has vanished, but it still interesting to know that it was written before any big reveals or debates hit the Internet. While a general knowledge of GG is advised, there is still a lot of bad dates, bad interviews and bad dieting tips that make this book worth picking up.

 

Rate: 4/5

 

“So don’t let your plans have the last laugh, but laugh last when your plan laughs, and when your plan has the last laugh, laugh back laughing!”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

