Bibliophile: (n) a lover of books.

Happy Wednesday and Happy February!

We are so excited for February to be here. We have three family birthdays (including our niece’s first birthday party this Saturday!), Valentine’s Day, tickets to one of our favourite bands, and a much anticipated vacation to Cuba. Ahhh… Welcome February!

I can’t wait to trade in my desk for a beach towel, but in the mean time we are very busy trying out new recipes, reviewing products, and wrapping up our January book review.

At Christmas, my friends Katie, Kelsey, and I decided to start a book club for 2017. Each month we would review the books we read, choose our favourite, and recommend it to a friend. So far, Kelsey and I have both finished our goal of one book per month, but Katie blew us out of the water; she read 6 books! Ranging in subjects, themes, and audiences, she (somehow) managed to choose her favourite.

Here is Katie’s review from her jam-packed January. Stay tuned for other book reviews and an inside peek into decorating for Vera’s first birthday bash!

Have a lovely day,

-S


image11

Slaughterhouse-Five

Kurt Vonnegut 

“…when a person dies, he only appears to die. He is still very much alive in the past, so it is silly for people to cry at his funeral. All moments, past, present, and future, always have existed, always will exist.”

Expectation: I was aware of Vonnegut’s status as a prolific American author, so I went into the book with trepidation. What if it didn’t resonate with me? What if I don’t see why he gained such accreditation? And most importantly, did I want to read an “anti-war” novel in a time when it is all that is plastered on social media?

The answer is yes. Absolutely, I did, and so will you. 

Plot: The protagonist is Billy Pilgram, and we follow him as he is blown about like a pitiful leaf, at the whim of the winds of war. He is, among other places, present at the infamous firebombing of Dresden near the end of WWII. We are given a scattered slideshow of Billy’s life, and a blunt perspective on war, the after math and the concept of time.

Review: It took me far less time than I anticipated to get into this book. I was instantly drawn in by Vonnegut’s prose. It is minimalistic and deliberate. The fractured structure is executed in an innovated way, with the intricate inclusion of time travel and peaceful alien race. The tone is sarcastically tragic. The message is clear and yet not forced upon the reader. It is also a specific moment in history, which I am sad to say I knew nothing about. It is a beautiful portrayal of post-traumatic stress disorder and the forms it can take on. It is a novel that will stay with you long after you have put it down. The construction of this novel may be disorienting to some, and the style is definitely distinct, but it is definitely worth the read. It is also a fascinating time to have picked up this book. I recommend this book to anyone; to those who are drawn to war, and those who are terrified. It echoes to strongly to our current state as a nation and I came out the other side feeling more hopeful and calm than when I began. I am surprised it has taken me so long to discover this classic, but I am now anxiously awaiting my next foray into the Kurt Vonnegut vault.

 

Rate: 5/5 

“Ignore the awful times and concentrate on the good ones.”

2 thoughts on “Bibliophile: (n) a lover of books.

Leave a Reply

